Vedic Philosophy2018-10-02T15:18:57+00:00

Knowledge is an important component of our spiritual growth.

Over the period of some 30 years, I have written these articles to illustrate a variety of spiritual ideas and principles.

Knowledge can guide us in our practices, let us know what to expect along the way and support us in times of doubt. However, knowledge alone can only take us so far. Direct experience is equally as important so I encourage you to choose the practices which resonate with you and make them part of your daily life.

These articles have been grouped by categories to help you select the ones that may be of greater interest to you. 

Edited versions of some of these articles have been published in other places, including the Chopra Center Lifestyles Newsletters.

I have always tried to fully research each topic and apologize for any inaccuracies. Unlike scientific “facts”, spiritual wisdom is open to interpretation. These articles reflect my understanding of the subjects. Please read them with an open mind and find the path that best suits you.

Vedic Philosophy

A Brief History of Meditation

From before the Big Bang to Now Western science tells us that the universe as we know it began with the Big Bang.  However, the obvious question is, “What was there before the bang?”  The Vedic answer to this question is Pure Consciousness.  An eternal, silent field which is nothing in itself but holds the potential for everything and, out of which, everything arises.  The Absolute. Being eternal, the Absolute is timeless, an eternal Now.  It is also Pure Silence.  However,

Maha Mrityunjaya Mantra

In the Vedic Tradition there are two great mantras that stand out from all the rest.  These are the Gayatri Mantra for enlightenment and the Mrityunjaya Mantra, the most powerful mantra for healing and longevity. This mantra is addressed to Shiva for warding off untimely death. While its energy protects, it re-links consciousness to its deeper essential nature and repetition of the mantra develops concentration that leads to a transformation of awareness. Whereas the Gayatri Mantra is meant

The Gayatri Mantra for Enlightenment

While there are numerous mantras in the Vedic Tradition, there is non greater than the Gayatri Mantra. The Gayatri is dedicated to the aspect of the sun just before sunrise so that all the potential energy emanating from the entire cosmos is contained within Gayatri.  It is said that meditation with the Gayatri Mantra burns away all the layers of impurities covering the mind, accumulated through countless births, and bestows upon us the vision of

The “Normal” States of Consciousness

The Vedantic Tradition as expressed by Adi Shankara tells us that Pure Consciousness is the only reality, everything else is an experience in consciousness. Pure Consciousness is that in which all experiences occur and out of which all experience is made.  In every experience you are creating the world. You are not in the world, the world is in you. There is only Pure Consciousness and its modified forms. The great Sufi poet Rumi wrote that, “Awareness

The Eight Limbs of Enlightenment

Some of you will be familiar with Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga, Raja Yoga, the Royal Path. This is the great gift Patanjali gave the world, laying out a very simple and yet profound set of guidelines for removing the obstacles on our path to Enlightenment. These Limbs form the basis of any Sadhana or spiritual practice to purify the physical, mental and spiritual bodies. However, Patanjali isn’t just guiding us to a healthy mind

The Foundations of a Spiritual Practice

We can think of a spiritual practice as something similar to building a beautiful, tall mansion set in lush gardens. This mansion is like no other. When finished, it will be filled with exquisite works of art, celestial music and treasures beyond compare. Everything you could ever want or need will be in exactly the right place at the right time. Peace, harmony, joy and love will radiate to everyone who visits. This mansion is

Select the categories of greatest interest to you.

Go to Top